Article Usha Pinnamaraju - Growing vegetables

Register

ForumSupport

Staff member
A dietician by profession who cared to give her profession an edge by not just prescribing what food is good for one’s health but also to show them how to grow their own food.
Ms. Usha has beem working as a consultant dietician, the first of her kind, across Vishakapatanam, for the last 27 years.
“Initially I started catering to the needs of the diabetic children in and around Vishakapatnam in terms of raising funds and providing insulin, etc. for the lower socio economic belt. After that, I have moved on to providing proper food at our house for families by growing vegetables.”
Usha began growing leafy vegetables and gradually moved on to others as well. Today, she even has fruits on her farm. Later on, a public demand began stirring in asking her for tips to build terrace gardens.
“I have associated myself with a software company and as part of their CSR program, I conduct a lot of workshops in and around Vishakapatnam about composting, urban gardening, segregation of waste etc. I have had Greater Vishakapatanam Municipal Corporation approaching me to do videos on composting, etc. These videos are distributed widely across Vishakapatanam as part of the Swachh Bharat campaign.”
Besides all this, Ms Usha, along with a bunch of like-minded friends opened a venture called Rythu Mithra Foundation to help people establish their own kitchen/balcony/terrace gardens.
“We train people by conducting workshops etc. and teach them how to go about it and give them saplings, seeds, etc.”

20200504_161106.jpg
What types of plants do people usually grow?
Most women are more into floral plants, bonsai, etc. With these constant workshops and with the rising concept of grow your own food, more people are adding leafy and other vegetables to their cultivation list.
Do people usually grow vegetables for themselves or is there a tendency to cultivate and sell the produce as well?