Notices
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Can I buy farm/agri-land in India?

1. #1 Can I buy farm/agri-land in India? 

* Is it true that only agriculturist or an agricultural worker by profession can buy farm land in India?
    * Can any indian buy farm/agri-land?
    * What if I want to buy farm land and then lease/contract it to somebody for farming?

Thanks in advance for clarification. Reference to a suitable link will be the best.

2. #2 Buying Farm Land... 

Dear Mr. Gupta,
    Can you please clarify your status, Resident Indian/NRI (non - resident indian), secondly the laws differ from state to state.

Regards,
    Dutt Sharma

NRI cannot buy agricultural land in india.
    Q9.: Can a person resident outside India (i.e. a NRI or a PIO or a foreign national of non-Indian origin) acquire agricultural land/plantation property/farm house in India by way of purchase?
    Ans.: No. A person resident outside India cannot acquire by way of purchase agricultural land/plantation property/farm house in India.
    Last edited by moderator A; December 14th, 2012 at 04:52 PM. Reason: only premium members are allowed to post contact info. please click My Account to upgrade

4. #4 i can help u to get ur required property in india . 

sir, i can get u ur required property in INDIA. u may contact me
    Last edited by Ritika; October 23rd, 2007 at 09:36 PM. Reason: Only paid Verified Members are allowed to post contact details. Please click "Upgrade" to become a Verified Member.

Thanks for the reply so far.

I know that NRI's can't buy agricultural land in India. But does this apply to farm land also?
    * Is there a difference between farm land and agricultural land in terms of government rules and use of the land by the holder.
    * Can NRI's buy any land (other than residential land and commercial)?

In fact, how many categories of lands are there (residential, commercial, agri, farm, .....)?